The Four Limitless Minds

Living life in a kind and wise way is important to Buddhists. To nurture these ideals, the Buddha taught them to sow seeds of goodness by practicing Compassion, Loving-Kindness, Joy, and Inclusiveness. The loving-kindness meditation, mettā, is the traditional Buddhist blessing.

May all beings be well.
May all beings be happy.
May all beings be at ease. 

The Five Precepts

In the beginning, the Buddha did not make any rules for the sangha. A rule was made only when a wrong was done. He taught that following the precepts faithfully is the same as filial respect toward our parents and Dharma teachers. The five major rules are called the Five Precepts. 

  1. No killing - Respect for life 
  2. No stealing - Respect for others' possessions
  3. No sexual misconduct - Respect for your own pure nature
  4. No lying - Respect truth
  5. Not using alcohol or drugs that cloud the mind:  - respecting clarity of mind it now!

The Six Perfections

The Six Perfections are a set of positive qualities to develop on the Bodhisattva Path.
1. Giving: The wish to give freely, without expecting a reward
2. Precepts: Development of good behavior
3. Patience: Calmly facing the difficulties in life
4. Effort: Being energetic and overcoming laziness
5. Concentration: Staying relaxed, with the mind focused
6. Wisdom: Combining intellectual understanding with insight into the way things really are


© Copyright 2018 - All Rights Reserved

This site was built with Mobirise